The Eu Was Started with an Agreement of

The European Union (EU) is one of the most significant political and economic unions in the world. It was established on November 1, 1993, with the signing of the Maastricht Treaty. However, the origins of the EU can be traced back to the aftermath of World War II.

The EU started with an agreement of six countries: Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands. The agreement to form the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was signed on April 18, 1951. The ECSC aimed to create a single market for coal and steel products among its member states. This agreement was the first step towards the integration of the European countries.

The success of the ECSC led to the creation of the European Economic Community (EEC) in 1957. The EEC aimed to create a common market for goods, services, capital, and people among its member states. The Treaty of Rome, which was signed on March 25, 1957, established the EEC.

In 1992, the Maastricht Treaty was signed, creating the EU. The treaty established the foundations for political, economic, and monetary union among the member states of the EU. The EU also aimed to promote peace and prosperity among its member countries.

The EU has expanded significantly since its inception, with 28 member states currently. The newest members of the EU are Croatia, which joined in 2013, and Bulgaria and Romania, which joined in 2007. The EU has also undergone significant changes in recent years, such as the adoption of the euro currency and the creation of the Schengen Area.

In conclusion, the EU was started with an agreement of six countries, which led to the creation of the ECSC. The success of the ECSC led to the creation of the EEC, which eventually became the EU through the Maastricht Treaty. The EU has since become a significant political and economic union with 28 member states.